Which teams have qualified for World Cup 2022? England cruising to Qatar as Italy sweat in Northern Ireland

IT'S the final week in the World Cup European qualifying groups as teams close in on qualification for Qatar next winter.

The winners of each group will advance to the Qatar World Cup, with the second-placed team heading to the play-offs before fans can think about booking their tickets.

Here are the crunch standings…

Who has qualified for the World Cup 2022?

Three teams have so far qualified for the World Cup 2022.

  • Qatar (as hosts/ had taken part in UEFA Group A)
  • Germany (UEFA Group J winners)
  • Denmark (UEFA Group F winners)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL top four)
  • Serbia (UEFA Group A winners)
  • Spain (UEFA Group B winners)
  • France (UEFA Group D winners)
  • Belgium (UEFA Group E winners)
  • Croatia (UEFA Group H winners)

How do the play-offs work?

Joining the 10 second-placed teams in the play-offs are the two highest-ranked teams from the Nations League who have not already qualified or finished in a runners-up spot (currently Wales and Austria).

And the play-offs for this World Cup are tougher than ever before.

Rather than the traditional two-legged format, the 2022 World Cup campaign sees the 12 teams put into three paths of four teams, with each path consisting of two one-legged semi-finals and a final.

The unprecedented Qatar World Cup takes place from November 21 to December 18, 2022.

    Source: Read Full Article